Spring Break Boredom? Try Pinterest!

If you need something to keep you busy over spring break, I have the perfect idea for you!

Pinterest.  It seemed everyone was talking about it, but I didn’t know what it was.  A few weeks ago, I finally caved and asked Mrs. Mathews to send me an invitation, so I could check it out.  If you don’t know what Pinterest is, I’ll tell you now just how awesome it is!

According to their website, “Pinterest is a virtual pinboard. Pinterest lets you organize and share all the beautiful things you find on the web. People use pinboards to plan their weddings, decorate their homes, and organize their favorite recipes.  Best of all, you can browse pinboards created by other people.”  What does this have to do with teaching?  You can get creative ideas for your classroom from other teachers, and you can save and organize all of the educational ideas you find on the internet.

When I first log into Pinterest, this is what I see.  I see “pins” from other people I follow on Pinterest.  I can follow friends or people with similar interests.

When I go onto my page, I see my own pinboards.  You can see that I’ve organized my pinboards into different categories.

If I click on my pinboard for school, I can see all of my pins of the great classroom ideas I found and saved.

In Pinterest, you can also search for a term and find pins that match.  For example, I searched for “Classroom Organization” and these are all of the items that matched.

If you are already on Pinterest, you can find my page with this link:

http://pinterest.com/kfishbish/

If you haven’t been on Pinterest and need an invitation, I can send you one.  Just let me know!

If you wish to share your own Pinterest page with everyone, feel free to share in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

